Spiritual Home

3 Oct

Today I discovered the upside to a down coin. Having planned to meet some old friends from my halcyon (ahem) days in Sheffield, I was rather disappointed to find a no-show (no matter, these things happen, I’m sure we’ll reunite soon). However, the meeting place suggested by one of my friends was, ‘Rude Shipyard’ on Abbeydale Road in Sheffield. It turned out to be quite the wonderful discovery.

In the Rude Shipyard beneath my window

In the Rude Shipyard beneath my window

The Rude Shipyard (or The Rude shipyard beneath my window, to give it its full title) is basically a tiny little house crammed with books, mismatched sofas and rocking chairs which also sells pots of tea and scrummy-looking cakes. To an ex-resident and full time romanticiser and rose-tinted spectacle purveyor of the Steel City, the place just screams Sheffield. I felt instantly welcomed and cheered, and made myself comfortable in a rocking chair by the window with the London Review of Books.

I had a quick chat to a couple of fellow patrons of the cafe, and then settled back with a pot of proper Earl Grey tea (with leaves and a strainer and everything!) and watched the other kinds of leaves (those on the trees) change into their Autumn outfits before stepping out into the golden gusts of wind that blew the sunlight down Abbeydale road.

On finishing my tea I chatted for a while with the lovely lady who served me my tea. She suggested that since it was my first visit, I should go and explore the upstairs of the cafe-cum-bookshop. I dutifully did, only to stumble upon two more lovely rooms crammed with cases and shelves full of books.

On leaving the cafe (albeit reluctantly) I stepped out into a beautifully sunny, fresh, Sheffield October afternoon feeling like I’d found my spiritual home. I was almost sad to leave, until on my journey out of the city I saw a poster for Off The Shelf reading and writing festival which runs from 10 – 30 October throughout Sheffield.

It was with more than a small smile that I departed, knowing I’d be back very soon for more tea and many more books.

5 Responses to “Spiritual Home”

  1. Anton October 14, 2009 at 10:13 pm #

    Man…i so want to find that place. It sounds like my ideal sort of shop. But also, the kind of place you’d want to find on your own. I’d feel so pleased if i just stumbled across it.

  2. beatifnik October 14, 2009 at 10:27 pm #

    It’s amazing. Such a lovely feel to it as well. The quest is on to find one in Leeds!

  3. Louise October 15, 2009 at 10:23 am #

    Went past this the other day, really have to pay a visit!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. #oneaday 56: (late) Amazing bookshops around the world « Biography of a Beatific Beatnik - February 27, 2011

    […] This was taken from an old Biography of a Beatific Beatnik post, the original can be found here. […]

  2. Gemma Critchley: (late) Amazing bookshops around the world « The One A Day Project - February 27, 2011

    […] This was taken from an old Biography of a Beatific Beatnik post, the original can be found here. […]

Leave a Reply

