Creativity and Hope

11 Jan

Well, it’s been a while. This is a good thing. I’ve taken time out (not just out of blogging, but out of life in general) and I’m back, better, rejuvenated, complete with new job and new feeling of calm for 2010.

So, the new year seems to have inspired people to do something different, to push themselves a bit more and to maybe leave their mark as the first decade of the new millennium ends and the next one begins. Or maybe people just have more time on their hands these days. Either way, I’m not complaining. The dawn of 2010 seems to have inspired creativity (or at least, the desire to create) in seemingly almost everyone I speak to. This is amazing. I love that my twitter feed is alive with the crackle and sparkle of new blog posts. I love that people are putting (figurative) pen to paper with new vigour. I don’t care if it’s tripe or if it’s about something I don’t give a hoot about. It’s happening, and that’s a Good Thing. I’ve linked to some of my friend’s new blogs in my blogroll, have a look and let them know if you like what they’re doing.

We need to talk (copyright Toothpaste for Dinner)

We need to talk

By the end of 2009 I felt like everything had slid into a funk. Now, for a posi person, this was a very, very unusual occurance. My job, my flat, my gym routine… But not just me. The whole world seemed to be wading through treacle. The economy, the war, the prime minister, technology, literature, everything seemed to be on a go-slow. I couldn’t get excited about much. Of course, when faced with such a situation, one does what one can to ensure we ‘make the best out of it’. So I left my job for pastures new. I sorted out some financial messes that kept waking me up. I started a new job (which I love) and chucked all the rubbish out of my flat that I didn’t need. Which made me feel better, but not quite tip-top.

Then came the surge of energy that is the new year. Now, I’m not talking about new year’s eve, because that’s an over rated night for people who don’t normally go out. I’m not even talking about new year’s day, because that’s generally spent wallowing in a hangover, watching films on the BBC. No, I’m talking about The New Year, New Start mentality that grips everyone at this time of year. It’s that heady period when the Christmas memories haven’t quite faded and the January blues haven’t quite set in. It’s a magical moment, where possibilities seem to bound in front of you, tracing a path that only ends at your dreams. It’s that crackle of energy when you realise that you can break routine, you can make a change, you can be better.

It’s hope.

And so many people let it run out a couple of weeks into the year, and spend the rest of the time making do rather than letting themselves chase their dreams or change their destiny. So, dear reader, I implore you to hang onto this feeling. Okay, so you may not post your blog every day. You might forget to look on the bright side when things get really bad. But keep this feeling, put it somewhere safe and whenever you feel like things are getting too much, or that you’re bored with what you have, or you feel like you’re stuck in a situation you can’t change, take the feeling out. Let yourself hope, but hope carefully. Too much becomes blind optimism, too little will make you a prisoner of your own self doubt. Ration it, share it, do what you will with it.

But don’t forget about it.

2 Responses to “Creativity and Hope”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. #oneaday 2 – To move forward, we must first look back « Biography of a Beatific Beatnik - January 2, 2011

    […] Creativity and Hope January 2010 5 […]

  2. #oneaday 2 – To move forward, we must first look back « The One A Day Project - January 2, 2011

    […] Creativity and Hope January 2010 5 […]

Leave a Reply

