A new hope

19 Aug

Having been without access to any real internet since February, I’m aware how I’ve neglected my duties to share (read: force upon) any prose that should tumble from my head to my keyboard via my fingers. I still don’t have proper internet but after months of being the little hobo/a drifter/of no fixed abode, I am finally in possession of four walls and a ceiling again (hurrah!) and will soon be the proud owner of my very own internet connection.

More about my brush with homelessness (I make that sound far more dramatic than it was, I simply moved back to my parents’ house) later. Maybe. And more about the job that I started and which I love, but that takes up everyone second of my time at the moment. Maybe.

For now – the reason why I’ve chosen to return to sharing with you. Well, there are a couple of reasons.

1) Inspiration.

One of my friends keeps a ‘one a day’ blog, where he posts every day (surprisingly). He’s kept it up all year and that’s not easy.

2) Excitement.

Now I’m settled again and I no longer feel like I’m pouring every ounce of myself into commuting 100 miles a day, I’m actually enjoying reading and writing again. It’s quite a terrifying feeling to find yourself disconnected from the books that you love or the outpouring of words that has always come so naturally. To rediscover that feels wonderful.

3) Realisation.

There are other people out there who care about being creative. Other people are putting everything that they are into their words and their images and laying them bare for everyone to see. It’s as easy as you make it. I recently came across a Leeds creative group called The Leeds Savage Club and realised that rather than talk about writing, or think about writing, I should just be writing. Simple.  I still don’t know too much about the group or how it works, but I feel excited about it in the same way I did when I first discovered National Novel Writing Month or NaNoWriMo.  It gives you hope, it gives you confidence and it makes you get words out onto paper (or in this case, screen).

I feel really good about breaking my creative drought. Let’s just hope it holds out after I get the internet back…

3 Responses to “A new hope”

  1. amkuska August 19, 2010 at 2:38 pm #

    Welcome back. I’m glad you realized there are others who care about creativity too.

  2. mazzz in Leeds August 19, 2010 at 3:03 pm #

    Despite being a member of the Leeds Savage Club, I haven’t written anything for over a week – I am admonishing myself however, I hasten to add.

    I could never do NaNoWriMo, I reckon – my inner editor doesn’t shut up for long enough :-\

    Be good to meet you next week!

    Maria
    @mazzz_in_Leeds and the current person behind the @LeedsSavage twitter account

    • beatifnik August 19, 2010 at 3:05 pm #

      I’ve tried NaNo for every year since about 2003 and have never hit the word count, but I’m still determined to do it one day! Looking forward to meeting my fellow Leeds Savage folk too, see you soon!

Leave a Reply

