Material world

21 Sep

It being London Fashion Week and me being international fashion writer extrordinaire (well, not really, but I do work for a fashion website); there are a few things that have been both making me extremely happy and extremely frustrated this week. I shall outline both sides to the story here. May I say before you read on that the below is underpinned with a special brand of personal bitterness and that normal, posi service shall resume shortly.

question mark over today

question mark over today

Frustrations

The entire fashion world seems to be made up of a 90/10 split of people. The majority seem to be completely vacuous, celebrity-hungry, unoriginal, freeloading morons who spend no time actually engaging with fashion or style, or the creativity or ideas behind it. Instead, they’re only there for the bolly or to see how many times they can tweet “@minorcelebrity Loved seeing you again at the show, BFFs 4 ever in joke love you xx!” before posting a half-arsed few lines on a blog with a  grainy picture of them with someone who may or may not be the latest East London scenelet.

New age fun with a vintage feel

New age fun with a vintage feel

This rant was inspired by various tweets that I’ve seen on the #LFW hashtag recently. I hasten to add that I refer to some tweeters, not all. The people I do choose to follow are generally engaging, informative and actually have a real interest in the shows, creations and concepts themselves rather than just in how many free cupcakes they can score and how quickly they can give themselves serious RSI from typing ‘OMG’ repeatedly into their BlackBerry (no one in fashion has an iPhone, darling. ‘How quaint!’).

The video for the wonderful ‘Being a Dickhead’s Cool’ by the Grand Spectacular has also brought to a rather harsh light the cringeworthy bandwagon of pseudo-fashion bloggers and other airy-fairy ‘industry folk’ (liggers, blaggers, party girls, people who take pictures on hipstamatic apps and call themselves photographers, general scenesters). Some people are doing amazing things for DIY fashion and blogging – What Katie Wore, CupCate, Miggy Likey, Anastasia Duck, The Very Simon G, etc. But for every Susie Bubble, there are a thousand pale imitations. Fair play if someone has an opinion and feels like they have something to add creatively; but to put time and effort (however minimal) into simply copying something someone else does in the hope that it might get you a few free samples or into a press area is very wrong indeed. Those who’re doing it for the right reasons; right on – keep it up. Those who’re not – jog on. Those who’re not sure, watch this video. Whether you laugh or tut should quickly and simply show which camp you’re in.

Merits

As with most of life, there’s a small minority that make the majority bearable. And this minority is thus: the writers and bloggers who’re at the shows because they love the buzz and creativity of it all and they want to convey that to others. The photographers who appreciate aesthetics and beauty and want to share their take on this with the world. The designers who pour themselves into their work and create things that have an amazing balance of wit, charm and humanity (Holly Fulton, I salute you). The people who talk about fashion because they care about the clothes, the ideas behind them and the impact they have on society. There are lots of you and you’ve restored my faith in fashion in the week when it should peak, but when I almost lost it. Of course, circumstance and low reserves of positivity on my part could be to blame, but just when I was ready to turn my back on the fash pack for good, a few things came to light that really excited me and made me remember what I loved in the first place. And so, in the spirit of positivity, here are a few reasons to smile re: fashion:

Holly Fulton’s collection has been my favourite of LFW SS11 so far. Since learning that it was inspired by ‘Joan Collins on a cruise’ I like it even more. I love the prints, the simple shapes of the shift dresses and the fact that it’s a bit bolder and more individual than a lot of other designers.

LONDON, ENGLAND - SEPTEMBER 20: A model walks the runway during the Holly Fulton Spring/Summer 2011 fashion show during LFW at Somerset House on September 20, 2010 in London, England. (Photo by Gareth Cattermole/Getty Images)

Holly Fulton - Runway LFW Spring/Summer 2011

Everything that is filed under ‘special items’ on the Marc Jacobs website. Marc Jacobs is my all time favourite designer, I love the humour in his collections and the fact that he has fun with his designs. He doesn’t take himself too seriously, lets a really sunny side of him shine through and is tongue-in-cheek without being ironic. Plus, he’s opened a book shop. In New York. Nuff said.

Marc Jacobs Book Marc shop

Marc Jacobs Book Marc shop

And not to mention this SEO copywriter’s wet dream (nightmare?) of a tote bag: “Jacobs by Marc Jacobs for Marc by Marc Jacobs in collaboration with Marc Jacobs for Marc by Marc Jacobs…”

Jacobs by Marc Jacobs for Marc by Marc Jacobs in collaboration with Marc Jacobs for Marc by Marc Jacobs...

Jacobs by Marc Jacobs for Marc by Marc Jacobs in collaboration with Marc Jacobs for Marc by Marc Jacobs...

Okay, I feel much better now. Maybe not better enough to plough on being a fashionista in the office; but better enough to revoke the embargo I’d put on Cupcakes, goodie bags and free samples…

5 Responses to “Material world”

  1. Jen September 22, 2010 at 10:42 pm #

    Love this post. I’ve always loved fashion but I’m quite open about the fact I don’t know a great deal about designers and I’m not particularly interested in seeing a skinny model swish down a runway. I love fashion on real people. I’m obsessed with street style photography because it’s a direct connection between runway and pavement.

    I could not survive amongst the fashion scene as you describe it, no matter how many free cupcakes or glasses of bolly on offer! 🙂

    • beatifnik September 23, 2010 at 4:55 pm #

      I think I was having a bit of a rant there, everyone I met last time at London Fashion Week was generally lovely and talented; it’s just a few people who spoil the scene for everyone else. I think DIY and street style is definitely the way forward – that’s where designers get their inspiration so it’s just come full circle and fashion bloggers are now in the spotlight. Keep up the outfit posts on you blog, I love seeing them!

  2. Roxie Passi April 24, 2011 at 1:31 pm #

    Thank you for every other excellent post. The place else may just anyone get that kind of information in such an ideal approach of writing? I have a presentation next week, and I am at the search for such information.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. #oneaday 2 – To move forward, we must first look back « Biography of a Beatific Beatnik - January 2, 2011

    […] Material world September 2010 2 comments […]

  2. #oneaday 2 – To move forward, we must first look back « The One A Day Project - January 2, 2011

    […] Material world September 2010 2 comments […]

Leave a Reply

