The redundancy shakedown (and other songs)

22 Sep

In these ‘interesting times’ as one previous Director I worked for put it; it’s not uncommon to hear about redundancies, companies closing and people going jobless. It used to be something that was a vague notion slightly over the brow of the hill of my sphere of reference, something that happened far away, or to other people’s dads when I was at school. But of late (and by late, I mean, pretty much since I started working); the heavy axe of redundancy swings perpetually overhead; and work becomes not so much a day-job, but a full time battle to keep your head down, lest it get chopped off by said axe.

Lately, I’ve been thinking differently though (dangerous, I know). Maybe the axe isn’t there to behead us. Maybe it’s coming down on us to cut ties and to set us free. How many people sit every day in a job they hate, saying that they’ll leave ‘one day’ to persue their dream job; and yet they never do it? This is the chance we’ve been waiting for. Nothing holding us back. Yes, there’s money to think of, but as long as you can pay the bills and eat, you don’t need anything else. And if you’re serious about achieving your dream then it shouldn’t be too hard to make sacrifices.

The Grin Reaper (yes, I know it's not technically an axe)

The Grin Reaper (yes, I know it's not technically an axe)

Okay, so I’m not actually out of the door on my ear (yet) but still. Time flies when you’re having fun, as they say. There are a thousand angry rants that I could throw down about what’s happened recently, but I won’t. Instead, I’m going to look at it as an opportunity. A fate-driven kick up the bum. I’m still working out my plan of action to achieve The Dream, but at least the wheels are now in motion.

Living the dream

Living the dream

It’s quite exciting, really.

4 Responses to “The redundancy shakedown (and other songs)”

  1. Ash September 22, 2010 at 3:53 pm #

    The department manager at the time we were made redundant said that she could almost guarantee that the decent members of staff would get decent jobs in the end, and the useless staff that were just hanging onto a decent-paid job would suffer.

    Those of us that were asked to move to Gibraltar are on the same salary, two of us working from home. A few of the useless idiots I know of have had several jobs, and one guy still hasn’t got one (he left mid-December).

    In this case at least, I think it’s evened it out. I even get much more time to work on doing stuff I really want to do- web design.

    I’m sure it’ll work out.

    • beatifnik September 23, 2010 at 4:55 pm #

      Wow. Cheers Ash, you gave me a good bit of perspective there!

  2. Jen September 22, 2010 at 10:44 pm #

    One of my pet hates – people who complain and complain and COMPLAIN about their job but do nothing about it. Since graduating I’ve had three amazing, inspiring and hugely rewarding jobs doing the thing I love – writing. I’m not in my dream job yet, but I KNOW I’ll get there one day because I won’t stop working for it, ever.

    You could say I’m ambitious… 🙂

    • beatifnik September 23, 2010 at 4:52 pm #

      V. inspiring, Jen! That’s kind of how I feel. I’ve worked so hard to get to my near-dream job that I’m doing now and whilst I’m gutted that it’s almost over; I’ve learnt so much and made so many amazing contacts that I can’t really feel bitter about it. And it’s making me strive to achieve my end-goal even more now. Yay for ambitions! xx

Leave a Reply

