Reasons to be cheerful #2

23 Sep

Here is a list of things that have lifted my spirits of late…

Having tea with friends

… Including the chap who keeps a rather nice blog over at Mount Analogue.  I had virtual tea and a natter via email with another friend today too (mainly because he lives as far away as is humanly possible without leaving the country) but his one a day updates are also worth a read .

I like mine Neue 45 light. No sugar.

I like mine Neue 45 light. No sugar.

The prospect of a new haircut

Although I have no idea what to get. In a rare turn of events, I haven’t cut or coloured my hair in one whole year, which is either makes me a binner or a hippy or a tight git, neither of which I would hope to be know as; so I’m scissor-bound at the weekend. I’ve yet to decide on a hairdresser, so if anyone in Leeds can recommend one, feel free. Also, if anyone would care to suggest ideas for styles, that’d be great too. I love clothes and fashion, but when it comes to hair I’m a complete idiot. My philosophy is ‘tie it back and forget about it’, although I could be persuaded to maybe try a little bit more.

you may take my hair...

you may take my hair...

Very naughty cakes at work

Now, those of you who know me well enough will know that I am not the kind of person who has a sweet tooth. In fact, my favourite flavour is salt. It’s an extremely rare occasion if I ever buy a chocolate bar and I’m simply non-plussed when it comes to cakes, biscuits or sweets. Give me some nice bread and oil or a pot of olives any day. Dessert? Pah. Pass me the cheese board. However, I do make exception when something looks wonderful, and today at work we ended up with the world’s naughtiest cakes – made from some sort of chocolate-biscuit cheesecake base, with chunks of brownie and fudge and cream and everything else you can imagine. I couldn’t eat more than a couple of bites without wanting to barf, but it was worth it. Truly lush.

Naughty, naughty, very naughty

Naughty, naughty, very naughty

and, the final reason to be cheerful today is…

This song:


That’s brightened the day up a bit.

3 Responses to “Reasons to be cheerful #2”

  1. Jen September 26, 2010 at 9:23 pm #

    Ah, you’re probably all freshly chopped now but I can recommend Cutting Room Creative. There’s a branch in Chap A and one in town – bit pricey but very worth it!

    Love your cheerful post. It’s helping to stave off the Sunday Blues! x

    • beatifnik October 1, 2010 at 11:28 am #

      Thanks Jen! I’ve booked in at Horsforth College for my hair chopping… Bit nervous but it’s bargainous! xx

  2. smellmycheese October 1, 2010 at 10:22 am #

    Highly recommend RMUK in Leeds, down from Primark!

    I can’t go two months without changing my hair in some way. Jenny does mine and she’s great – I just let her go for it.

Leave a Reply

