I have a confession

1 Oct

I have a confession to make. It’s something that’s been weighing on my mind for a while now and I feel like I’ve strung people along for long enough. You deserve to know the truth.

This is really hard for me to do, and I don’t want to put my career in jeopardy and I don’t want you to think I’m any less of a person for this, but… Deep breath, here goes:

I don’t really like shoes.

Not a fan

Not a fan

There. I said it. Yes, I work in fashion and yes, I adore all things sartorial. But shoes leave me feeling cold. I just can’t conjure up any real enthusiasm for them. I feel like I’m missing out on something. You read chick lit novels and they’re littered with references to women falling into fits of rapture over a new pair of heels, Carrie Bradshaw basically values her Jimmy Choos over her own self respect and Cameron Diaz even made a (presumably terrible) film about them. Tagline: “Two sisters. Two lives. The only thing they had in common… WAS THEIR SHOE SIZE!” (I kid you not).

This notion of my non-love for shoes has been hanging around in the back of my mind for a while, but it was only on a recent shopping trip where I must have looked at and tried on about  20 pairs of boots that the realisation finally dawned on me. It’s not that I’m overwhelmed by shoes. Quite the opposite, I spend my days at work discussing shoes, writing about shoes and talking about shoes (among other things, of course).  I just feel like I’m missing the point of them, or that there’s something magical about shoes that I’m missing.

Maybe it’s a deeply-rooted psychological issue. I do remember adoring a pair of Clark’s Magic Steps that I had when I was about 9 years old. But since then, I haven’t come across a pair of shoes that send me into the giddy throes of passion as demonstrated by many women. Maybe I just haven’t met the right pair yet. Maybe I’m wasting time wearing shoes that I’m half-hearted about because I haven’t bothered to look hard enough for The Right Pair.

The bottom line is; I don’t love shoes. I don’t hate shoes. I don’t particularly like them. I simply suffer from shoe apathy. I can obsess over handbags for hours. I have a serious dress addiction and will happily waste an entire afternoon rearranging my jewellery and accessories collections. But shoes do nothing for me. I do make an exception for trainers, althought they’re not something I wear myself; the boy is obsessed with trainers and he’s shown me a new side of them that I wasn’t aware of before. I appreciate that a lot of sneaker design is conceptual, which is something I really like. Maybe that’s why I’m not a big fan of shoes – they don’t seem to stem from the same ideas and themes that other items of apparel do.

To me, shoes are functional. Yes, they can often look nice and yes, I do have quite a few pairs, but primarily, they’re just to stop your feet getting wet or make you look a bit taller. I think my problem is that I’m a bag person, not a shoe person. Very much in the same way that people describe themselves as ‘dog people’ or ‘cat people’ (I, by the way, am neither).

Despite this (and with a view to injecting some positivity into this post) I am happy to be proved wrong, so if anyone would care to point me in the direction of shoes that will change my mind, feel free…

7 Responses to “I have a confession”

  1. Miggy October 1, 2010 at 10:22 am #

    Can I just say, there is pure comedy in the way that little girl says “magic shoes”…. I’m gonna have to do a replay.

    x

    ps. Don’t worry, I don’t think any less of you…. well, not too much less 😉

    • beatifnik October 1, 2010 at 10:35 am #

      I love the fact that the wicked witch is the shoe shop assistant… Amazing. Hope all’s well with you, lady! xx

  2. andrea October 1, 2010 at 11:38 pm #

    I hear you on this one.

  3. Ange October 2, 2010 at 9:31 am #

    OMG MAGIC STEPS!! I really wanted to jump in the foot measuring machine in Clarks the other day… Kids get all the best stuff! Meh!

  4. Mum October 8, 2010 at 11:26 pm #

    Just one word Gem. . . . . Brilliant!!!!! Love you xxxx (Well technically three words if you count the love you!!)

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. #oneaday 2 – To move forward, we must first look back « Biography of a Beatific Beatnik - January 2, 2011

    […] The busiest day of the year was October 1st with 123 views. The most popular post that day was I have a confession. […]

  2. #oneaday 2 – To move forward, we must first look back « The One A Day Project - January 2, 2011

    […] The busiest day of the year was October 1st with 123 views. The most popular post that day was I have a confession. […]

Leave a Reply

