Jaunts west to Liverpool: well boss

28 Oct

Tomorrow morning, I’m being whisked away to the city of Liverpool for a lovely night away with my lovely fella.

I’m very excited about this for a number of reasons. Firstly, we’re going to get all cultural and visit the Tate for some art action. Secondly, we’re staying in what looks like a fab hotel on the Albert Dock. Thirdly, we’re going to disco dance into the night to the sounds of Danger, an electro type producer off of France. Should be cracking. I won’t talk too much about it now as I imagine I’ll be back here shortly regaling you with tales of my trip, so I’ll tell you the other reasons I’m looking forward to visiting Merseyside: ace memories.

Liverpool is one of those cities that you just get a really good feeling for as soon as you step off the coach/train/ferry/pit pony/whatever. There are a couple of reasons why I think this is. Firstly, it seems to have a lot more space than a lot of other cities that I’ve visited. The first time I went to Liverpool, as a Fresher back in the early noughties, I was visiting with Rock Soc (yes, I’m that cool) on a trip to Liverpool’s ROCK CLUB, the Krazyhouse. I remember getting off the bus and being really surprised that I felt like I was at the seaside. The air in Liverpool felt exhilarating. Okay, so I know I’m not the most blessed person when it comes to geographical knowledge, but I did know that Liverpool was near the sea. But I didn’t expect it to have that big, open sky, whilsting wind feel of some of the more remote northern beaches that I’ve visited. I think it’s because that free, open feeling contrasted really well with the sprawling city behind me. The city itself feels like it has a lot of heart and, excuse the rhyme, art in it. I don’t mean galleries. I mean that it just feels like it generates a lot of creativity. And, even though I’m not the world’s biggest fan of The Beatles, you can’t help but see how they (amongst countless others, I know) felt inspired by the city.

Lots of sky, lots of water

Lots of sky, lots of water

I’ve seen the city from the other side of the water and it’s equally as exciting. The fact that there’s an underground tunnel UNDER THE RIVER freaks me out quite a lot (I’ve never been on the Eurostar, can you tell?) but the view from the wirral of the city at night is just lush. I was once lucky enough to venture to an old maritime defence castle type thing – Fort Perch Rock-  on the banks of the Mersey to take part in a club night called Nautical. Even though it absolutely binned down with rain and we had to squeeze about sixteen people into a Corsa to get back to Liscard to go to someone’s parents’ house and drink their Amaretto, it was a brilliant night and once again, left me with a lasting and positive image of the area.

A fair few of my favourite friends hail from Scouseville or thereabouts and they’re all jolly decent, so I seem to have an in-built predisposition towards folk from the Wirral and the ‘Pool which may explain why I feel so at home there.

I’m very much looking forward to our jaunt west and hope the reports I bring back with me are as glowing as ever. There’s lots more that I want to see, for example, Port Sunlight sounds boss. I don’t know where the city gets its other, more negative rep from…

Sorry, couldn't resist.

Sorry, couldn't resist.

Calm, as they say, down.

2 Responses to “Jaunts west to Liverpool: well boss”

  1. mai October 29, 2010 at 7:31 am #

    *likes*
    I hate the rubbish people say about Liverpool, it’s a great place. My auntie rents an apartment on the Albert Dock, it’s a lovely place to sit & look out of the window & my cousin has a house in Port Sunlight, it’s a cute little village!
    Enjoy your night 🙂 x

  2. Gem October 31, 2010 at 10:38 pm #

    Thanks Mai! I love that city, we had a fab time. Our apartment was overlooking the Albert Dock, well jealous of your Aunt living there. I hope to go back again soon xx

Leave a Reply

