Wishlist

28 Nov

Those of you who know me will know that I am not really a materialistic person, considering my line of work. Many a time when I was working (ahem) “in fashion”, I couldn’t help but think “It’s just stuff…” (not that I let this show in my work, naturellement). But there comes a time in every girl’s life when she needs a good healthy dose of window shopping. And that time happens to co-incide quite happily with the month that contains my birthday and Christmas. Huzzah!

So, fair readers. I present to you my wishlist. It’s mainly crammed with clutter that I don’t need and would never buy but thought it made for a pleasurable evening, trawling the internet and deciding to just please myself for pleasure’s sake. Plus, I have been asked to drop some not-so-subtle hints to certain folk… So here are some ‘wants’, from the modest to the ridiculous:

Books!

The best present of them all. I’m afraid I’ve turned into one of those boring family members who only ever give books for presents, even to 5 year olds who clearly would rather have had some sort of exploding toy type thing. I think a book is the most wonderful present you could possibly give or receive, it lasts ages, is super-personal and it takes a lot of thought to get it right. Some books I’m coveting at the moment are:

Simon Pegg - Nerd do well All my friends are superheroes

Walking to Hollywood Lights out in Wonderland

Sticking with the literary theme, anything from the Literary Gift Company looks amazing, and I’m a sucker for the Penguin Classics range of gifts.

On the road water bottle Owl book brooch

 

Pinnies!

As well as reading, I’ve recently discovered a whole new love for cooking. And in true turning-into-my-mum style (this is a Good Thing, by the way), I’ve found myself eyeing up a new kind of garment that previously didn’t enter my frame of reference. That’s right, kids. I want a pinny.

pinnies galore

Still on a kitchen theme (kind of) I would like to think of myself as some sort of Nigella-esque culinary goddess, quaffing champagne as I prepare a feast for an extremely sophisticated dinner party. In reality, I’d probably be making wedges and dips for me and Robbo, but no one needs to know that. So, what would I need to be able to quaff champagne suitably (apart from said fizz, of course)? That’s right: champagne flutes.

Frivolous bits!

Despite by protests about being a worthy, non-materialistic type, I clearly am. So, if anyone would care to buy me anything (or everything) from the special items section of Marc Jacobs, I’d love you forever. Maybe.

Bookmarc totes

Aaaaand, a pamper session never goes amiss, and I’d quite like to try those feet-eating fish pedicures as well as minx.

feet eating fish

Of course, the ultimate treat would be for Jarvis Cocker and the rest of Pulp to play their reunion warm-up gig in my living room, surrounded by lots of good friends, good port and good cheese…

Yorkshire blue cheese Vintage port

But yep. I could go on all night, getting sillier and sillier. Presents are always wonderful, but it really is just stuff. Without wanting to make you all vom at my bleeding heart sincerity, there really are more important things at this time of year. You don’t have to spend a penny to make something really thoughtful or just make someone feel special for the day. I reckon that’s the nicest way to show someone you care.

If you’re tempted to go out and buy lots of stuff that you don’t need, I’d highly recommend penning a blog post about window shopping, it’s pretty much as satisfying as the real thing. Plus, you can use the money you saved to make a donation to a charity like Shelter or St. George’s Crypt – they really need it at this time of year.

Donate to Shelter homeless charity

Happy window shopping, folks!

4 Responses to “Wishlist”

  1. andrea November 29, 2010 at 4:26 am #

    That’s one of the reasons why I do wishlist posts and stuff 🙂 I go through different phases of consumerism, but I find that the only things I don’t feel guilty about buying are books. And yes, I’m also the book buying type.

  2. Lucy November 29, 2010 at 6:53 pm #

    Loved this post! I am also one of those people who will buy books over anything else. I’m not sure why. When is your birthday? xx

    • beatifnik November 29, 2010 at 11:50 pm #

      Good work on the book buying, lovely. It’s my birthday next Wednesday, the 8th December. Kind of crept up on me without me realising… eek! xx

Leave a Reply

