Round up of 2010

28 Dec

The last year has been eventful to say the least. 3 jobs and 3 houses later and I’m finally feeling all settled and ready to give you my review of the year’s stuff. Enjoy! Feel free to argue/agree with me by leaving a comment. What were your fave things of 2010?

2010 year in review

Books I enjoyed/am currently enjoying

I didn’t actually read that many new books this year, mostly ended up reading old books or re-reading ones. Memorable ones that spring to mind are:

Junk by Melvyn Burgess
Ten Storey Love Song by Richard Milward
Wild Life by Joe Stretch, and I still need to check out the spotify interactive book he did, which I plan to do over the next week or so.
Notes from a Big Country and Notes from a Small Island by Bill Bryson
Life After God by Douglas Coupland
Tourism by Nirpal Singh Dhaliwal
and lots more

Books published this year that I’m currently reading are:

Walking to Hollywood – Will Self
Nerd do Well – Simon Pegg
Everything by Lindsey Kelk

Films I enjoyed

I haven’t really watched that many new releases (shame on me). I did really, really enjoy The Men Who Stare at Goats when I finally got round to watching that this year. Other than that, I loved:

Scott Pilgrim vs. The World
Kick Ass
Inception

Gigs I enjoyed

Been to lots this year, and as always, Primavera tops the list. Other than that, Sleigh Bells put on the best live show I’ve seen in ages, they’re a totally different band on record to what they are live. And Les Savy Fav were mental:

Primavera Sound, incorporating: Pavement, Pulp, Pet Shop Boys, The XX, Diplo and loads more
These New Puritans at the Brudenell in Leeds
Frightened Rabbit at the Cockpit in Leeds
DANGER at Waxxx in Liverpool (although mainly for the messy/lairy lolz factor
Constellations – namely: Los Campesinos, Sleigh Bells, Les Savy Fav and lots more
Will Self’s reading at Morley Lit Festival, not strictly a gig but loved it all the same
Bingley Music Live 2010: Frightened Rabbit were amazing

Tweeters I enjoyed

I haven’t included friends on here, as if I’m following you then chances are I rate your tweets! I’ve come across some ace people on Twitter this year. Celeb/company/business/website/brand wise, these were my faves:

@theashes
@milliesleeds
@lindseykelk
@Serafinowicz
@explodingdog
@mylifeinleeds
@anastasiaduck
@theverysimong

Fave blogs

They’re in my blogroll in the sidebar… —–> over there —–>
Special mentions go out to Worthless Prattle Makes the World Go Round by Ian and his oneaday success. I’m going to be doing the oneaday challenge in 2011, to try and raise money for charity so stay tuned.

Albums I enjoyed

I haven’t listened to as many albums as usual thanks to Spotify playlists largely changing the way I listen to music (i.e. not downloading much anymore). My favourite discovery of 2010 was JoCo Looks Back by Jonathan Coulton, but since that was released in 2008 and i only just discovered it, I haven’t put it on the list. I also have yet to listen to Joanna Newsom’s latest record so I imagine that would’ve been on here.

Sleigh Bells – Treats
Arcade Fire – The Suburbs
My Chemical Romance – Danger Days (yes, really)
Chromeo – Business Casual
Frightened Rabbit – The Winter of Mixed Drinks
These New Puritans – Hidden
Perfume genius – Learning
Best Coast – crazy for you
Gorillaz – Plastic Beach
Daft Punk – Tron: Legacy soundtrack

Songs I enjoyed

2010 had been an amazing year for pop music. I have to admit, my listening has ended up being split almost 50/50 between indie and genuine pop bangers.

Infinity Guitars – Sleigh Bells
Nananananana – My Chemical Romance
Runaway – Kanye West
If we ever meet again – Katy Perry feat. Timbaland
VCR – The XX
Swim Until You Can’t See Land – Frightened Rabbit
Telephone – Lady Gaga and Beyonce
Whip my hair – Willow Smith
Not in Love – Crystal Castles feat. Robert Smith off of the Cure
Shutterbugg – Cutty feat. Big Boi
Katy on a mission – Katy B
Like a G6 – Far East Movement
OMG – Usher

Fashion highlights

Nude – hats, bags, dresses, shoes, tights. Kelis had it right with Fleshtones
Max C London dresses – pure brilliance and pretty reasonably priced
Closet – new fave workwear label, also trading as Louche at Joy
London Fashion Week SS10 – my first (and possibly last) fashion week
Oli.co.uk sample sales
The return of faux fur – finally, I’m back on trend. I knew if I stuck to my leopard print long enough, it’d come back around
Most wanted: Marc Jacobs bird rings (which I got thanks to my lovely boy!)

Work highlights

Getting nominated and shortlisted for the inaugral Cosmopolitan Blog Awards (best e-tailer blog)
Leaving one fabulous job to go to another more fabulous one
Getting to work on loads of exciting new digital projects
Getting to star in my very own Gok Wan esque style advice video
New work friends and great work music in the office
Oli dolly reunions

Gaming highlights
I’m super excited for the new Portal, but this year I’ve enjoyed playing (all on Xbox except for Braid on PC)

Peggle Nights
Super Meat Boy
Braid (I only discovered this in 2010)
1 to 100 on Xbox
Limbo is on my ‘to play’ list too so I think that’ll make the list from what I’ve seen so far

TV highlights
X Factor wasn’t as good this year as it has been previously, I didn’t really care about any of the contestants. There were a few decent comedies on though:

Phone Shop (although the boy and I are the only people in the world who enjoyed it)
The Trip
An Idiot Abroad
University Challenge
Miranda
BBC Breakfast with Bill and Sian (yes, really!)
Outnumbered with Hugh Dennis – going to see him do standup in February, can’t wait!
Wonders of the universe (amaaaaaaaaaaazing)

I’m sure there’s loads more to remember from 2010 that I’ve forgot about, but that’s a good snapshot.

4 Responses to “Round up of 2010”

  1. fortheneighbourhood December 28, 2010 at 6:13 pm #

    I think One Direction and their naughty whisperings and Rihanna singings might have been the highlight of my 2010.

    • beatifnik December 28, 2010 at 7:03 pm #

      True, that one direction comment to Matt was genius. As was Dermot calling Katie Weasel a naughty word. Loleriffic.

  2. Lucy December 28, 2010 at 6:21 pm #

    I’m glad you got your most wanted fashion item! Sounds like a good year to me. x

    • beatifnik December 28, 2010 at 7:03 pm #

      Thanks lady! I looove the rings, so pretty! xx

Leave a Reply

