My first post of the 2011 one a day project

1 Jan

MMXI. It sounds like a shortened version of Mexborough, the town where I was born, co-incidentally. Which must make 2011 My Year, or something.

fonts welcome to mexborough

This is my first post of the one a day project, where myself and a gang of other literally inclined (that phrase looks wrong but does actually make sense, trust me) are attempting to post one blog every day in 2011. The project was started by Pete and I heard about it through my friend Ian, who successfully completed one a day last year and who subsequently inspired me to get involved. This year, we’re blogging for charity, so if you’re feeling kind, visit our justgiving page and donate to support Cancer Research UK.

I’ll be posting all of my one a day updates here as well as on my normal blog and may use some of the time to post bits of fiction that I’m writing – two birds, one stone, etc. – so I welcome any comments, ideas, suggestions and abuse that could help me make it better.

Right, and so to post!

So, last night! NYE 2010. I’m not the biggest fan of new year’s eve, it always seems a bit like forced fun. Although we did have some absolutely cracking parties at my mum’s when I was growing up. However, last night was brilliant. We threw a surprise birthday party for my friend and drank enough champagne to float a fairly sizeable boat. It involved lots of dancing, singing, good food and good fun. Today I managed to be slightly productive and hit the sales. I bought these sexy brown brogues:

brown brogues primark

As well as some taped leg ankle length grey trousers and a sheer high-necked blouse. I also got some Mac mascara and Scott Pilgrim vs. The World on DVD. Score! We also went to Nandos (for the second time in my life) and I was pleasantly surprised by their halloumi offering. Plus Peri Peri salt is amazing. Never thought it possible to improve on perfection, but adding chilli to my favourite flavour has gone and done it. Right, I’m now off to watch the aforementioned DVD.

How exciting. First one a day post over and done with. Good luck to my fellow one-a-dayers and here’s to the rest of 2011 being amazing…

5 Responses to “My first post of the 2011 one a day project”

  1. Pixie January 1, 2011 at 8:14 pm #

    What a simply marvellous idea! I’ve been rather slack on the blog front of late but will watch your efforts with interest. Lush shoesies too. 🙂

  2. beatifnik January 1, 2011 at 11:08 pm #

    Join in! Signup is open until 8th January: http://oneadaybloggers.wordpress.com

  3. Olen April 10, 2013 at 4:58 am #

    constantly i used to read smaller articles which
    as well clear their motive, and that is also happening with
    this paragraph which I am reading here.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Ahhhhhhh… Fashion! « Biography of a Beatific Beatnik - January 7, 2011

    […] On a more sensible note, I am in love with these chinos from You Must Create, available from My-Wardrobe.com. Think they’d look good with my new brogues: […]

  2. Gemma Critchley: Ahhh…… Fashion! « The One A Day Project - January 7, 2011

    […] On a more sensible note, I am in love with these chinos from You Must Create, available from My-Wardrobe.com. Think they’d look good with my new brogues: […]

Leave a Reply

