#oneaday 3 – Structure and other stories

3 Jan

So, I’m three days into this one a day malarkey and there are quite a few ideas I’ve had for it and a few things I want to use it for. I had a brief exchange on Twitter last night with Pete who writes Stuff From My Head for the #oneaday project about how we were raring to write loads of stuff but that we didn’t want to peak too soon, or run out of things to say. So, I’ve decided that in order to succeed, my blog needs some STRUCTURE.

we can do it - one a day bloggers - world war 2 poster - keep calm and carry on

I’m not saying I’ll stick religiously to it, but I think it’ll help give the blog a better flow, stop it becoming too much of a diary and give people reasons to read if a particular day’s topic is of interest to them. I’ll maybe get round to putting it on the About section one day soon, too. As some of you may or may not know, I write stories now and again, and I’m going to post some of them up here as part of #oneaday. I also like fashion, reading, music, being cheerful and geeking out. So, I’ve decided that henceforth:

  • Monday – Talking about other people’s stories (what I’m reading, other blogs, etc.)
  • Tuesday – Digital/Design musings (Yes, I like to geek out about tech, digital, design, advertising, gaming, etc.)
  • Wednesday – Wishlist Wednesday (an excuse to write about a few of my favourite things)
  • Thursday – Music day (I shall post some aural delights)
  • Friday – Friday fashion post (I follow a lot of fashion blogs and I’d like to share the best ones with you)
  • Saturday – Reasons to be cheerful (does what it says on the tin, really)
  • Sunday – short story day (my attempt to pen a story each week)

Phew, I feel better now I have some order in my life.

How is your blog going if you’re doing the one a day challenge? Remind people that they need to sign up by the 8th if they want to get involved…

Back to work tomorrow, normality resumes…

6 Responses to “#oneaday 3 – Structure and other stories”

  1. Lucy January 3, 2011 at 8:33 pm #

    I think I’ll look most forward to Sunday posts! I didn’t even know that you wrote. x

    • beatifnik January 3, 2011 at 10:22 pm #

      Indeed! If you’re looking for stories of questionable quality, I’m your girl 😉

  2. Weefz January 4, 2011 at 12:36 am #

    Ooo, interesting idea! I’m not sure I’m organised enough to stick to a schedule myself but I do enjoy blogs that have regular features.

    • beatifnik January 4, 2011 at 10:22 pm #

      Thanks! I think it’s the only way I’m going to post every day this year. I never thought I was such a control freak until now…

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. #oneaday 94: quick! « Biography of a Beatific Beatnik - April 5, 2011

    […] a new way to tap into being creative for this blog. I’m going to return, for a while, to my original structure plan. You can read the post about it […]

  2. Gemma Critchley: quick! « The One A Day Project - April 5, 2011

    […] a new way to tap into being creative for this blog. I’m going to return, for a while, to my original structure plan. You can read the post about it […]

Leave a Reply

