#one a day 5 – fairytale endings for the homeless voiceover man

5 Jan

This is the first Wishlist Wednesday post of #oneaday. It’s not really a wishlist this week, I don’t feel like I actually want anything after such an excessive festive season. So, I think I’ll just talk about something that made me smile today.

Someone sent this video around at work. I love how this homeless man with a golden voice for radio had 50 job offers and over 5 millions hits on YouTube. The power of the internet, eh.

This chap is brilliant and that video is probably my favourite thing about today. It’s not just the video itself that instills joy in me so much, it’s more the affirmation that fairytales and magic do exist and that they really can happen to anyone.

I’m a sucker for a rags to riches story and I seem to be programmed to perpetually root for the underdog, so this guy’s story is a natural winner for me. Good luck to him!I’ve got a huge fixation with the proverbial happy ending (helped along by my love for the wonderful Mr. Danny Boyle) and so stuff like this just makes me believe in the inherent brilliance of people in general. You hear about so much horrific stuff on the news or see people who’re meant to love each other doing such hurtful things that it sometimes gets hard to remember that generally:

PEOPLE ARE NICE

So I try to savour little sparks of awesomeness like this that make you remember that everyone has the potential to be amazing.

Everyone.

Yes, including you. But, as I once saw on a red-lit ticker tape crackling through the night air in Liverpool, potential is nothing unless it is realised. So go on, bugger off and do something spectacular.

4 Responses to “#one a day 5 – fairytale endings for the homeless voiceover man”

  1. ianos83 January 5, 2011 at 9:13 pm #

    Apart from the people who are tossers.

    He’s been given a job and a house, last I heard.

    • beatifnik January 5, 2011 at 11:19 pm #

      Hurrah! See, happy endings.

  2. Lucy January 6, 2011 at 10:00 pm #

    Didn’t see this at work but Sam just happened to show me earlier. Love it – so happy for him X

    • beatifnik January 6, 2011 at 11:04 pm #

      Me too, I love it when everyone comes up roses.

Leave a Reply

