#oneaday 6: My soul laid bare

6 Jan

Some things are so personal that you wouldn’t want to share them with you closest friend, let alone the entire internet. Dark secrets that you’ve had locked up, festering over time, eating away at your conscience.

guilty pleasures guilty pleasure

But there comes a time in everyone’s life when you just have to be honest.

However guilty you feel, you’ll feel better for doing it. And today, for me, that time has come.

That’s right. I’m going to share with you, esteemed public, my Last.fm profile, warts and all. Yes, of course there are reams and reams of hipster rubbish and achingly cool indie. But there are also some steaming piles of pump that many people would never admit to liking or if they did, it’d be under the caveat of it being a ‘guilty pleasure’.

Now, I have a major issue with the concept of feeling shameful about liking something like music that was clearly (in most cases) created to stir up positive emotion in people. Why should anyone feel bad just because their musical taste isn’t considered to be as hip as the next person’s? It’s kind of similar to the reason why I don’t like irony – if you like something, like it. Don’t like it in an ‘ironic’ way. But that’s a post for another day (there are 364 of them left on the #oneaday project…).

So yes. On that note, I shall leave you with one of my favourite songs of all time that is no doubt considered to be a guilty pleasure. But today, if you enjoy it, do just that. Enjoy it.

Feel free to add me on Last.fm if you haven’t been put off by the glimpse into my not-so-cool musical taste…

7 Responses to “#oneaday 6: My soul laid bare”

  1. Ash January 6, 2011 at 10:23 pm #

    I completely forgot about Last.fm, yet the last song played on my profile was Relative Surplus Value by The Weakerthans. Sounds about right.

    • beatifnik January 6, 2011 at 11:53 pm #

      The Weakerthans, amazing. Good call.

  2. R. Thomas January 6, 2011 at 10:27 pm #

    I never understood the whole need to feel ashamed of what you listen to, even if others consider it the most asinine pap out there. EVERYONE likes something that someone else is going to consider garbage. Nobody will ever be the coolest kid in the school when it comes to musical taste.

    My rule? Just like what you like and screw anyone who tries to make you feel bad about it. 🙂

    I apologize for nothing in my LastFM profile.

    • beatifnik January 6, 2011 at 11:54 pm #

      High five on that. Cool is relative anyway. I think I have the best music taste in the world, sod what anyone else thinks!

      • R. Thomas January 7, 2011 at 1:07 am #

        Precisely.

        The only thing that bugs me in that context is people who only listen to one type of music to the exclusion of all else (all metal, all hip-hop, all top 40 pop, all jazz, etc). THOSE people are the only ones who are wrong ;P

  3. Pete Davison January 6, 2011 at 10:28 pm #

    Agreed! Have no shame in the music you like, whatever it might be. Music makes us feel things, and different songs/artists suit particular moods.

    I’ll listen to Ke$ha one minute, Dream Theater next, a Shostakovich symphony next. Nothing wrong with any of them.

    Also, I think your numbering’s a bit squiffy 🙂

    • beatifnik January 6, 2011 at 11:57 pm #

      Hurrah! Thanks for the tip about numbering, it never was my strong point. Duly changed! Speaking of the (consistently fabulous) Ke$ha, have you seen this? Made me laugh…

Leave a Reply

