#oneaday 10 – The best a man can get

10 Jan

Working in advertising has given me a different view on certain things that I used to take as read in my previous client-side roles (she says, for all of the 56 days of her advertising career). I mean this in a completely positive way – I now have a way of seeing things from both sides and I think this will help a lot over the coming months as I get stuck into my new (ish) job.

There are always a lot of jokes about advertising and people who work in the industry, like this from one of my favourite web comics, Toothpaste For Dinner:

toothpaste for dinner advertising marketing

There have also been a few decent books and films born out of advertising, and one of them happens to be the book that I’m reading at the moment…

It’s called The Best A Man Can Get and it’s written by John O’Farrell:

John O'Farrell the best a man can get novel advertising

 

I’m only a couple of chapters in but I’m already enjoying it. It’s about a composer who writes music for ads and leads a double life. I shall endeavour to post a review once it’s done.

What are you reading at the moment?

2 Responses to “#oneaday 10 – The best a man can get”

  1. Lucy January 10, 2011 at 9:11 pm #

    Ooh definitely would like to hear a review of this in case it’s right up my street! X

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Tweets that mention #oneaday 10 – The best a man can get « Biography of a Beatific Beatnik -- Topsy.com - January 10, 2011

    […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by One A Day Project. One A Day Project said: RT @GemStGem: Today's #oneaday post is about advertising and books. But not advertising books: http://wp.me/pEVwF-49 @oneadayproject […]

Leave a Reply

