#oneaday 13 – It doesn’t always have to be beautiful

13 Jan

Today’s one a day is dedicated to musical musings and one of my all-time favourite bands of all-time… (+10 points if you know where that reference is from). The band is Slow Club, and the song I’ve chosen to share is It Doesn’t Always Have to be Beautiful:

What are you listening to at the moment?

I love Slow Club for millions of reasons. First and foremost, they’re from the same place as me (might mighty Sheffield and a bit from less mighty Rotherham). Secondly, their music is beautiful – folksy guitars, rousing singalongs, a girl bashing drumsticks on a chair… What’s not to like? Thirdly, they’re ace live and fourthly, I just love them.

If you like Tilly and The Wall (I mean their earlier stuff, not current 90210/Gwen Stefani-esque warblings) and bands like Los Campesinos, you’ll probably love Slow Club. Give them a whirl:

Slow club Last.fm page is here
Slow club myspace page is here

By the by – I actually quite like the way myspace has rebranded itself. I hope that they manage to claw back some market share from all-powerful Facebook, but with the recent introduction of the Facebook Bands app, they probably won’t. Shame.

But yes, I hope that Slow Club provide a suitably wonderful start to your weekend.

4 Responses to “#oneaday 13 – It doesn’t always have to be beautiful”

  1. totesbloggingrightnow January 14, 2011 at 7:36 am #

    My friend has been trying to get me into Slow Club for a number of months but i’ve just never got around to listening to ’em. I will do it this weekend 🙂 xx

    • beatifnik January 14, 2011 at 9:16 am #

      You’re going to LOVE them, Kat. They’re perfect.

  2. Darren January 14, 2011 at 12:22 pm #

    I love Slow Club! You’ve completely captured what’s great about them. And it doesn’t always have to be beautiful, but some of their songs definitely are. Raucous, joyful, silly and sad.

  3. fortheneighbourhood January 14, 2011 at 3:37 pm #

    Their newer stuff is so gut wrenchingly beautiful compared to the endearingly slapstick older songs. They’ve really developed as writers and apparently their new album is going to be absolutely amazing!

    I can’t wait.

    x

Leave a Reply

