#oneaday 17: Bookworm

17 Jan

I absolutely love reading and books. I always have loved books and can’t ever imagine life without them. From about the age of 7 I’ve stayed up way past my bedtimes, under the covers, squinting in the landing light or cosied up with the lamp on to finish that chapter or to find out what happens next. I have a few favourite series of books that I loved when I was younger, including Redwall, Lord of the Rings, Babysitters’ Club, Sweet Valley High, Point Horror, Mallory Towers and loads more.

point horror R. L. Stein books 1990s

What were your favourite books when you were growing up?

I loved Robert Swindells and loved Daz 4 Zoe and Room 13, both of which I recently re-read. Daz 4 Zoe is an amazingly raw Romeo and Juliet-inspired tale set not too far from this future that we live in now.

daz 4 zoe robert swindells puffin books teenage fiction

I also loved Junk by Melvin Burgess, not least because the lead character shares my name, but because it was just so brilliantly heart-wrenching.

Junk melvin burgess books

Something a bit more light hearted that I loved was the entire Mallory Towers series. I used to wish I could go to the school that they went to, it sounded amazing and was topped off only by Hogwarts when I finally got into Harry Potter.

mallory towers books amazon enid blyton

I discovered the other day that my gym has a bookshelf that you can borrow books from and they have almost all of the Point Horror books, I’m definitely going to be borrowing those. My mum used to take us to the library every week when we were little and I’d get six books out and read the lot before the next Saturday came around. The advent of the internet has certainly cut down on the amount that I read now but I’m hoping to change that and read lots more this year.

Any recommendations?

12 Responses to “#oneaday 17: Bookworm”

  1. bungiesgirl January 17, 2011 at 9:18 pm #

    Awesome reminder of my younger reading days – I think I still have a very dog-eared copy of Junk somewhere in the flat & now I must start rummaging! šŸ˜€

    • beatifnik January 17, 2011 at 10:33 pm #

      Do it, I re-read it last summer and it’s still as good as ever!

  2. Pixie January 17, 2011 at 9:23 pm #

    Sweet Valley twins (then sweet valley high when I got a bit older). I was obsessed. I had the tapes and everything. I even recorded my own voice reading out the books. :/

    I used to spend the entire Saturday at my dad’s house reading a couple of books from the series. My dad started refusing to buy me then because I read them too quickly. That’s when I was forced into my Dickens phase. SVH rawks. I shall see if I can find them next time I’m at my mums!

    • beatifnik January 17, 2011 at 10:34 pm #

      Yes! Nancy Drew and SVT/SVH were great, there was even Sweet Valley University and then the Wakefield Saga (it always made me laugh that they were the most glam girls ever but were named after a town in West Yorkshire!).

  3. Pixie January 17, 2011 at 9:24 pm #

    Oooh forgot – Nancy Drew as well, another staple!

  4. totesbloggingrightnow January 17, 2011 at 10:16 pm #

    OMG Sweet Valley Twins takes me back! Me and my sister used to get these out of the library and read them super fast to get onto the next one.
    I loved Point Horror too, I still do like that sort of genre just more grown up. Haha. That’s ace that the gym has a bookshelf. Mine has DVDs – all shit xx

    • beatifnik January 17, 2011 at 10:35 pm #

      There are DVDs too at mine but I haven’t checked it out yet. I’m going to have a day of SVH next time I’m back at my mum’s šŸ™‚

  5. Gledwood January 18, 2011 at 1:36 am #

    That Was Then This Is Now by author of The Rumblefish…. o man the name escapes me S E HINTON!!

    and I Am The Cheese … both American …

    The Hobbit JRR Tolkien

    Rupert Bear books are probably totally unknown your side of the pond but were absolutely amazing. Full colour illustrations with a banner headline on every page, two lines of rhyme and prose so you could use pictures and headlines (not satisfactory but i heard lazy people did it) or read the verse or the prose they were really imaginative really amazing. He was always going on trips to China or went to Jack Frost’s Ice Castle in the sky… at this time Britain had an Empire but places like Burma really were like Mars, which people ought to remember before they’re so down on the “racism” of days gone by… yeah Rupert was absolutely amazing he still comes out every year it’s the Rupert Annual (no year printed on front) and the strip appears in irritatingly small doses in the Daily Express newspaper though I doubt anyone is willing to follow 2 pictures a day from an Asterix/Tintin style book (no speech bubbles though).

    I could come up with a million more… o yeah one more PADDINGTON BEAR again probably unheard of but so funny my Mum once brought up a bucket I was laughing so much she thought I was being sick

  6. Gledwood January 18, 2011 at 1:38 am #

    And Enid Blyton The Famous Five. Her estate was bought out by a similar company to one that owns/part owns estsates of Ian Fleming and Agatha Christie her cumulative sales are well over 600 million she’s an all time classic here but again I heard not really known across the pond…

  7. Gledwood January 18, 2011 at 1:40 am #

    shit are you British I noticed I’m commenting in GMT…? why did i think you were American?? Maybe it was the collection of books I assumed they were American covers by the style. Are they yours or do you do a me and google the picture..?

    • beatifnik January 18, 2011 at 10:20 pm #

      Thanks for the tips Gleds! I am indeed from the UK, Yorkshire born and bred. Maybe the Point Horror books made you think I was American. The tips you gave were great though, lots of old classics like Rupert and Paddington that I’d almost forgot about. I ‘do a you’ and google the pictures I’m afraid they’re not mine – I should start crediting them really. Hope things are okay with you and that you managed to get some sleep eventually!
      šŸ™‚

  8. Gledwood January 18, 2011 at 1:43 am #

    ok and i didn’t see malory towers my attention span is edging towards terminal… everyone thought i was on something i’m sure at that na meeting i could not keep still!!!! i truly tried as could see i was irritating the hell out of several people, reading the literature during the quiet period, popping out for fags, pacing back and forth in the carpark and the carpark next door, causing disturbance making coffee…. not good not good.

    and i’m determined not to sleep or to sleep as little as possible should make me more hyper, from what i’ve read

Leave a Reply

