#oneaday 24: Films I’d like to see

24 Jan

I used to love nothing more than spending an entire night (or even night and day) watching films, curled up in bed or sat around with friends or cosied away in a corner of a cinema. I studied Film and Literature at uni and used to adore heading up to Psalter Lane film library and taking out as many non-school films as I could, then staying up all night until it was light watching them. Good times.

But lately, it’s been something that I don’t seem to do as much. So, with a view to recapturing what it was that I love about cinema, I thought I’d make a list of recent(ish) films that I’d like to see.

black swan natalie portman mila kunis

The Devil
Catfish
127 hours
Black Swan
Tron Legacy

I’d also like to do a day of reliving sixth form/uni film days to watch:

Clerks movie film kevin smith

Clerks
Mallrats
Chasing Amy
Empire Records
Animal House
Ferris Bueller’s Day Off
American Pie
American Pie 2
The Big Lebowski

Film marathon, anyone?

4 Responses to “#oneaday 24: Films I’d like to see”

  1. Vincent K January 25, 2011 at 11:14 am #

    Hate to be the one to tell you this, love, especially as I love his earlier films too – but Kevin Smith has completely disappeared up his own arse. He’s gonna self-distribute his next film with a screenings tour across the US before he puts it on general release. If you want to see the film before it comes out in October (again, US) you’ll have to pay about 50 dollars on a date of the tour (with a Q+A thrown in). Rubbish! x

    • Gregory Povey January 25, 2011 at 3:06 pm #

      I’d partially agree. All Kevin Smith films are unwatchable now, unless you are a high 17-year old.

      However, Cop Out, the “I did it for the money” film with Bruce Willis and Tracy Jordan, was a wonderful 90-minutes of classic mismatched buddy-cop comedy action.

      I would watch that again, but not anything else.

      • beatifnik January 25, 2011 at 10:00 pm #

        I haven’t seen Cop Out, sounds amazing though. Yeah, I’m a bit scared of going back and shattering my idealised dreams of youth by rewatching those films.

        And Vinny, yep I’ve heard he’s gone all money, but by all accounts he was totally charming on his last Q&A in London. Still love him!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Tweets that mention #oneaday 24: Films I’d like to see « Biography of a Beatific Beatnik -- Topsy.com - January 24, 2011

    […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by One A Day Project, Gem. Gem said: Feeling cinematic: http://wp.me/pEVwF-57 #oneaday @oneadayproject […]

Leave a Reply

