#oneaday 31: Gemma Critchley’s day off

31 Jan

I had today off work as a holiday day. As luck would have it, I seem to have contracted some hideous cold/sore throat type thing and so spent much of the morning lying in bed. However, at around midday I decided that enough was enough, and I did what always makes me feel better, however sorry for myself I may be feeling. I put on a pretty dress and did my makeup and headed to do some charity shop shopping.

I headed to Poverty Warehouse (aka Poverty Aid UK) in Hyde Park, my favourite charity shop of all time that I’ve found some brilliant things in (one of my faves being a book called ‘How to be famous’ which had a postcard inside it addressed ‘Dear Gem’ – no joke of a lie!). Anyway, I went there today. I did take lots of pictures of my day, but thanks to my ghetto internet connection, I can’t upload them right now.

I ended up stumbling across another book by John O’Farrell which I bought and will read when I’ve finished The Best a Man Can Get. I was also shopping for a vase due to the fact that the chap bought me some lovely flowers on Saturday but they are, at present, sitting in a measuring jug on the kitchen table. I ended up buying a (rather impractical but lovely nontheless) milk bottle from the Days of Yore (10 points if you get the reference). The bottle holds approximately 3 of the flowers from the bunch but it looks lovely all the same.

I then went for a walk in Meanwood to check out Waitrose, East of Arcadia and Alfred, the new bar opened by the lovely chaps who run North Bar. It was closed, but the sign looks good and I reckon it definitely means that Meanwood will become the new Chapel Allerton. Better get buying houses there now…

2 Responses to “#oneaday 31: Gemma Critchley’s day off”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Tweets that mention #oneaday 31: Gemma Critchley’s day off « Biography of a Beatific Beatnik -- Topsy.com - January 31, 2011

    […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by One A Day Project, Gem. Gem said: Gemma Critchley's day off: http://wp.me/pEVwF-5u #oneaday @oneadayproject […]

  2. Gemma Critchley: the illustrated day off « The One A Day Project - February 1, 2011

    […] on from yesterday’s #oneaday post about my day off, here are the photos I took of my day off’s adventures. I’ve never […]

Leave a Reply

