#oneaday 32: the illustrated day off

1 Feb

Following on from yesterday’s #oneaday post about my day off, here are the photos I took of my day off’s adventures. I’ve never been into my photography and none of this is meant to be particularly aesthetically pleasing, I just thought it made a nice change from words (as much as I do love them).

 

Like I said, I went charity shop shopping to Poverty Warehouse:

Poverty aid UK charity shop leeds hyde park

My favourite thing about charity shops is always the amount of books that you find in them, and that the books seem to tell a better story when you know they’ve been pre-loved. My favourites are the ones with notes in them. Next time you donate to a charity shop, leave a note in the book for someone. It could make their day…
hyde park books book shop leeds poverty warehouse

My next fave thing is records. I used to be a fiend for charity shopping and car booting for records but moving house about 10 times in 5 years has made me slim down the amount of liquorice pizza that I lug from place to place. That said, I did stumble upon a Tom Vek record that brought back some good memories, and an Edith Piaf one that made me feel a bit melancholy.

records leeds charity shop

tom vek record charity shop

edith piaf record

I then decided to take a trip to the newly-gentrified Meanwood to see if I could have a nosy in Alfred, the newest edition to the North Bar family. Unfortunately, it was closed but I liked the sign, and I like the fact that it’s called Alfred for Alfred Hitchcock, as it’s North By Northwest of North Bar. Ace.

 

alfred bar meanwood north bar leeds

I then popped into Waitrose and stumbled across these sugar mouse biscuits that remineded me of Fred.

sugar mouse biscuits cute cupcakes

Oh yeah, I also bought an old milk bottle from the charity shop that I turned into a vase for the lovely flowers that the chap got for me:

fab milk bottle from a charity shop

gorgeous roses from my lovely boy

Et, voila. That was it.

One Response to “#oneaday 32: the illustrated day off”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Family Milk Bottle Vase - February 6, 2011

    […] #oneaday 32: the illustrated day off Oh yeah, I also bought an old milk bottle from the charity shop that I turned into a vase for the lovely flowers that the chap got for me: fab milk bottle from a charity shop. gorgeous roses from my lovely boy. Et, voila. That was it. […]

Leave a Reply

