#oneaday 36: Reasons to be cheerful

5 Feb

Okay, so it’s raining. And windy. And cold. But that doesn’t mean there aren’t reasons to be cheerful! Here’s your weekly dose of sunshine…

reasons to be cheerful beatifnik

Libraries
Shelves crammed full of adventures. If you feel like you need a holiday or a break, but can’t afford one, get down to your local biliotheque and hoik a few novels. They’ll take you on a journey (a bit like Sacha… That one’s for For The Neighbourhood) and it won’t cost you a penny. Some of the libraries in the Uk are at risk of closure. See how you can help stop this by visiting Voices for the Library. Come on everybody sing along, let’s fix this! (10 points if you get the reference).
swinton library

Babies
Now, this is an unusual one for me, as it is a well known fact that I am the least broody person ever and I’m terrible with children to boot. They throw up on me, they cry when I pick them up and I can never seem to make them laugh like normal people can. But today I’ve had a thoroughly lovely afternoon hanging out with my nephew, god daughter and cousins’ kids and it’s been ace. I love how much fun kids have. I’m going to aim to behave more like a kid from now on (if that’s possible…)
playing shop

PGA Golf Tour (or more accurately, the names of people who’re playing in said tournament)
Bo Van Pelt, Chris Couch, Boo Weekley, Bubba Watson and not forgetting JHONATTAN VEGAS! The finest names in sport.

pga golf fail golf course

4 Responses to “#oneaday 36: Reasons to be cheerful”

  1. Mrs. This One February 5, 2011 at 8:35 pm #

    I am seriously in love with the Charles Young Research Library at UCLA- At any given time I have about 15 books from there.

    I also love books- did I mentioned that?

    -MTO

    • beatifnik February 6, 2011 at 1:48 pm #

      Libraries are awesome. What’re you reading at the moment, any recommendations?

      • Mrs. This One February 6, 2011 at 6:16 pm #

        What do you like to read about?

        Of the top of my head I’m reading Freakonomics for one of my classes. It’s a page-turner with some interesting stuff.

        Are you more into novels? Fiction? Non-fiction?

        -MTO

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Tweets that mention #oneaday 35: Reasons to be cheerful « Biography of a Beatific Beatnik -- Topsy.com - February 5, 2011

    […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by GailCleaver and One A Day Project, Gem. Gem said: Reasons to be cheerful: http://wp.me/pEVwF-5U #oneaday @oneadayproject […]

Leave a Reply

