#oneaday 54: the art of the mix tape

23 Feb

Today I’ve had a thoroughly enjoyable musical experience courtesy of this chap, one of the lovely Mrs. P’s friends who happens to have more or less the same (clearly brilliant) taste in music as I do. It’s just different enough to be able to learn new bands from that I’m almost certain to like. I’ve always been a massive fan of mixtapes and the general art of the mix. I think there’s a real skill to getting a mix tape right, and it can be more fun making it than actually listening to it. At uni I used to make tapes for all of my favourite people, complete with crude artwork and terrible song selections (although I still love them). I still have a huge box of tapes, CDs and mini-discs (remember those?) crammed with little musical hellos from friends. There’s a whole other post lurking here about formats that music comes on, but for now let’s stick with the music itself…

mix tape fictional lo fi analogue mixtape

Anyway, we decided to swap A-Z playlists on Spotify. If you’d like to have a listen to mine, you can do so by going here. If you’re not that bothered or you know that my taste in music already offends you, feel free to take the less aural-labour-intensive route of looking at which songs I chose to put on there:

The Airborne Toxic Event – Gasoline
Bright Eyes – Poison Oak
Casiotone For The Painfully Alone – When You Were Mine
David Bowie – Let’s Dance
Eels – It’s A Motherfucker
Frightened Rabbit – Keep Yourself Warm
The Good Life – Inmates
Hot Chip – Playboy
Interpol – Slow hands
JJ – From Africa To Malaga
The Knife – Listen Now
Lady Gaga – Bad Romance
The Mountain Goats – Sax Rohmer #1
Neutral Milk Hotel – Holland 1945
Orchestral Manoeuvres In The Dark – Enola Gay
Pulp – Like A Friend
Quasi – I Never Want To See You Again
Roxy Music – More Than This
Slow Club – It Doesn’t Have To Be Beautiful, Unless Its Beautiful
Tilly And The Wall – Nights Of The Living Dead
The Unicorns – The Unicorns “I was Born (A Unicorn)
Violent Femmes – Blister In The Sun
Patrick Wolf – The Magic Position
The xx – VCR
Yeasayer – O.N.E
Jay-Z – Dirt Off Your Shoulder

If anyone else fancies making an A-Z playlist to share, I’d be well up for listening to it. Link me up in the comments bit below. Of late, I’ve rekindled my love for the art of the mix and have had super fun sharing playlists on Spotify and with AGP, Hurlz, Perks, The Chap and more. Get involved.

Happy listening, kids!

6 Responses to “#oneaday 54: the art of the mix tape”

  1. Dan Friel February 23, 2011 at 11:10 pm #

    I was bored so have done on, here’s the link:

    http://open.spotify.com/user/danph/playlist/7K0bMkd49YLzDxDKc9YwuL

    it’s mostly punk rock and poppy country, with xzibit thrown in too. Some letters were difficult.

    • beatifnik February 24, 2011 at 12:14 am #

      Shania Twain is definitely mostly punk rock. Good work Dan, that’s tomorrow’s listening sorted.

  2. Jamie February 24, 2011 at 4:00 am #

    I am on this with bells on. I am trapped at work on a night shift watching over BT servers and they block spotify so it will have to wait a day or so!

    I love mix tapes! I used to make them all the time too – its a lost art. I always took way too much time over the flow of them. All the while knowing that realistically the recipient was unlikely to even notice the subtleties of the running order i had so painstakingly created, but at the same time not caring. such was the pride i took in my work.

    • beatifnik February 24, 2011 at 9:10 am #

      Exactly! You hit the nail on the head. It’s those subtleties that make the tape work. The flow of one track into the next, a common theme in lyrics, a message… It all matters! If you do a playlist, send me a link on here.

  3. thomhoops February 28, 2011 at 2:12 pm #

    Only just seen this, so sorry for the slow reply, mixtapes FTW. Simple as that. Looking forward to the next round.

    I still make CDs for people now and SPotify does make it exceptionally easy if even if you don’t have something to actually hold in your hand (unless your monitor is quite light).

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Tweets that mention #oneaday 53: the art of the mix tape « Biography of a Beatific Beatnik -- Topsy.com - February 24, 2011

    […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by One A Day Project, Gem. Gem said: The art of the mix tape: http://wp.me/pEVwF-6X #oneaday @oneadayproject […]

Leave a Reply

