#oneaday 63: The Golden Hour

3 Mar

Over the last few Fridays at work we’ve had different themes for the music in our office. I’m quite lucky as we’re a very small team and everyone has eclectic (and pretty good) taste, ranging over pop-punk/indie/dancey stuff so we don’t have to put up with too much guff. So far, our Friday music sessions have involved:

Will Smith Friday
Guilty Pleasures Friday
Collaborative golden hour

gold disc gold record golden hour record gems

Last week, one of the chaps in my team made his own version of the Golden Hour, like the one the Chris Moyles does on Radio One on Fridays. Now, Chris Moyles is probably one of the most annoying people on the planet but I love the idea of the Golden Hour. Pick a year, pick a set of songs from that year and everyone guesses what the year is. Last week was 1995 and there were some trips taken down memory lane, let me tell you.

This week it’s my turn so I’ve created my own Golden Hour playlist. You can listen to it here and guess the year in the comments below (no cheating allowed!). The last song gives it away but I’d hope we’d all have guessed by then anyway.

Do you have any music customs or traditions at work? What are they?

4 Responses to “#oneaday 63: The Golden Hour”

  1. Ciaran Watkins March 3, 2011 at 11:22 pm #

    Get flat beat off, and add Gay Dentists. Best Oizo breakdown for sure!

    • beatifnik March 4, 2011 at 9:42 am #

      But was it from the year I’m thinking of…?

  2. thomhoops March 4, 2011 at 2:22 pm #

    My Own Worst Enemy is one of my all time guilty pleasures. Initial guess was 1999 but I cheated and checked the answer.

    • beatifnik March 6, 2011 at 4:04 pm #

      1999 was right! Although I caused some controversy in the office as I’d chosen songs from albums that came out in 1999 rather than singles…

Leave a Reply

