#oneaday 66: I did it all for the gnocchi

7 Mar

On Saturday I made gnocchi from scratch, for the first time.

I was surprised to learn that it’s basically boiled balls of mashed potato with egg and flour, but hey; every day’s a school day as They say. It actually ended up being a bit sloppier in texture than I would have liked, so if anyone has any tips on how that can be avoided, that’d be greatly appreciated.

For now, I can cross gnocchi off my ‘to cook’ list and move onto my next culinary challenge, Greek cuisine. I don’t know if anyone reading this ever went to that amazing Greek deli on Hunter’s Bar roundabout in Sheffield, but if you did you’ll know exactly the kind of food I’m going to make.

greedy greek deli sheffield

Dolmades, moussaka, hoummous, olives (obvz won’t make those), and anything with Feta or Halloumi cheese. Any recipe suggestions are welcome as I don’t currently have a Greek cookbook.

Υγεία!

6 Responses to “#oneaday 66: I did it all for the gnocchi”

  1. fisforfaye March 7, 2011 at 10:12 pm #

    My absolute favourite is baked feta – get some feta, crumble it up in a small oven proof pot, add a bit of olive oil, couple of slices of tomato and some herbs. Stick in the oven for 20-30 mins and then scoff with delicious crusty bread.

    Om nom nom. Definitely not Chub Club approved, but delicious.

    Andy’s parents have an apartment in Greece, I could happily stay there and eat forever!

    • beatifnik March 7, 2011 at 10:49 pm #

      Ohhh that sounds wonderful! Thanks lady, I shall be trying that when I’ve got a few gym trips planned.

      • Pascale March 8, 2011 at 8:44 pm #

        Try spanakopita! its yum. Feta and filo pastry pie basically..not sure of the recipe as this was always made for me when we lived on a greek farm in Tanzania but Im sure you;ll find it online…. or try Yemista (also yum).

        Also – that deli in sheff was ace!

  2. beatifnik March 8, 2011 at 10:14 pm #

    Ohhh that sounds lush too, thanks lady! We should do come dine with me one night… xx

  3. Steph. March 8, 2011 at 11:47 pm #

    Not tried making gnocchi but when I make pasta, the drier the better. I guess maybe let the potatoes dry off fully before you add them to the eggs/flour? Failing that, if the mix is sticky, add more flour. x

    • beatifnik March 9, 2011 at 11:03 pm #

      Thanks for the tip, lovely! Very helpful, the drying off seems a good idea – it was very wet before. I’ll keep you posted! How’s the pasta machine working out? xx

Leave a Reply

