#oneaday 119: who am I?

8 May

My cousin messaged me via Facebook this weekend, asking if I wanted to help him work on our family tree.

family tre

I said yes, and we’re going to meet up soon to go through what we know so far before we pay for any info. I’m intrigued to find out who my family was a few generations back, as it all gets a bit cloudy when you get past the 4th generation.

It’ll be particularly difficult on my dad’s side as both grandparents and my dad are no longer alive, so the first go-to people aren’t there. We have lots of cousins, aunties and uncles though so I’m still excited to find out what’s in store. It’ll be a good excuse to have a few reunions with long-lost familia, if nothing else!

Have you ever done your family tree? Do you have any tips?

One Response to “#oneaday 119: who am I?”

  1. Heather Wilkinson Rojo May 9, 2011 at 2:35 pm #

    Go to the website http://www.geneabloggers.com/ and look at their search link. There are bloggers out there blogging about all kinds of genealogy- for beginners, for experts, ethnic groups, regional groups, archives and libraries to consult in person and online, and lots of other resources. All these genealogists started where you are now, at a small family tree with only three or four generations. You can ask questions and comments on any of these blogs and we are all available to help!

Leave a Reply

