#oneaday 128: Bournemouth bound

24 May

I’m heading on an epic journey south on Friday to see my long-time friend and #oneaday veteran, Drando McFieldyson*.

bournemouth hipstamatic seaside photo lomo

Very lovely hipstamatic image courtesy of Keriflic on Flickr

I’ve never been to Bournemouth before so I’m not too sure what to expect. I do like to be beside the seaside, though (let’s face it, who doesn’t?) so I’m looking forward to sea air, pier action, sandcastle building and other such loveliness.

My favourite seaside place ever is Whitby, not least because I’ve had some amazing times there with both friends and familia, but just because it’s got such a unique feel to it. It has an amazing sense of history, much of which I’m sure is down to Bram Stoker and my overactive sense of imagination, but it seems like every bit of Whitby tells a story. I love visiting new places to see if they do the same. I love imagining how they looked years ago back in their heyday and imagining what went on there.

If anyone knows Bournemouth well and has any tips or recommendations for things to do, give me a shout.

Also, I have a six-hour megabus journey down to Southampton and then a little jaunt across to B-town itself, so if anyone can suggest any good ways to keep myself amused on the bus, I’d be most grateful.

* Names have been changed to protect identities.

2 Responses to “#oneaday 128: Bournemouth bound”

  1. Hedges May 24, 2011 at 11:23 pm #

    I’m sure Ian will take you there but – go to Sixty Million Postcards.

Leave a Reply

