#oneaday 133: Cake and heartbreak

30 May

Today has been quite eventful. Not only did I wake up in Bournemouth, then travel to London, then to Leeds, but I also watched 500 Days of Summer for the first time and baked a cake. I liked it a lot. The film, not the cake (although that was quite nice too).

ginger cake home made baking 500 days of summer

I liked it not just because it was twee and fey and all of those other kitsch little sentiments that make me love anything that references indie offbeat stuff, but also because it was really real. I liked how it was (as they kept telling us) a story about love, but not a love story. Spoilers after the cut…

Now, those of you who know me well will know that I am the least realistic person probably to ever exist, I walk around with my head in the clouds, desperately trying to believe that everything is made of sunshine and rainbows and trying to convince everyone else that one day, we will all live happily ever after. So you wouldn’t probably expect me to take ‘real’ as a point that I liked about 500 Days of Summer. But it was just good to see for once, things happening like they often do in real life and not being all sugar coated and fake. Maybe Belle and Sebastian softened the blow for me… I also liked the ‘life goes on’ message at the end, so I suppose it wasn’t just an ending where the chap was left crushed.

Anyway, after we watched the film, I baked a cake. A nice bouncy ginger loaf in a tin in the oven. I’ve just had a slice with a cup of tea and it was most pleasant.

Right, that’s enough heartbreak and cake for one night.

P.S. I’ve just started a little art project, I’ll share it on here once it’s finished.

Leave a Reply

