Achieving my life’s dreams by proxy

25 Jun

I’ve been reading books by a rather fabulous author, Lindsey Kelk for a while now. Anyway, she doesn’t just write stories, she also blogs quite a bit, about beauty, (good) music and her own adventures.

On her blog a while back, she asked her readers to submit their ‘to do’ lists as part of the launch of her latest novel, The Single Girl’s to do list. So I did. She posted it on her blog alongside the others and I was thrilled with that, but I never imagined it’d end up in the actual printed, published book.

But it did!

Gemma Critchley Lindsey Kelk the single girl's to do list book writing published chick lit i heart new york cover       Lindsey Kelk the single girl's to do list waterstones book offer cover

I hope no one was offended by anything in there (especially my lovely family or chap, I said I felt like the black sheep as I wasn’t married/had kids but we don’t actually have any kind of black sheep – and I’m not a single girl, but I do have a to do list – it just sounds good for dramtic effect. It was either that or ‘SHARK ATTACK’ and I don’t think that would cut it, judging by the odd looks given to the woman on the direct line advert when she suggests it).

I saw it today in Waterstone’s in all its papery glory and I was dizzy with happiness. Okay, so it’s one page in someone else’s book so I’m not a published writer in the proper official sense, but if you look at the technicalities, I can kind of say I’ve achieved a small part of a big dream. My name is on there, and even the link to my blog got published and it mentions the very wonderful One a Day Project, too (which you can donate money to for Cancer Research here if you’re feeling generous). I’m rather proud and can’t wait to get properly stuck into the rest of the story, too. You can buy it here if you want to read it.

This has all spurred me on to write even more – not just via this blog but to carry on with the stories as well.

All in all a great day. I also found out my amazing little sister passed a big part of her teacher training course and one of my best  friends got a first in his engineering degree. Hurrahs all round!

Without wanting to sound too much like Heather Small: What have you done lately that makes you feel proud?

7 Responses to “Achieving my life’s dreams by proxy”

  1. Anonymous June 26, 2011 at 10:36 pm #

    My beautiful, bright, clever daughter (not that I should take all the credit; your Dad would have been very proud too Gem!) I’m always proud of everything you do and you’re always up to something that gives me cause to, but this is wonderful as I know how much writing means to you. Keep your dream alive and carry on chick. Love you millions Mum xxxx

    • beatifnik June 30, 2011 at 12:24 am #

      Thanks mum! Love you millions too xxx

  2. Shelley June 28, 2011 at 6:56 pm #

    I am a very proud big cous today! Well done gem I will eagerly anticipate your full debut novel in the near future! I think I will purchase this book for my holiday to France Love you loads shell xx

    • beatifnik June 30, 2011 at 12:24 am #

      Thanks cuz! It’ll make for a good holiday read. Love you too Shell! xx

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Achieving my life's dreams by proxy « Biography of a Beatific Beatnik - June 26, 2011

    […] Continued here: Achieving my life's dreams by proxy « Biography of a Beatific Beatnik […]

  2. It’s been a while… « Biography of a Beatific Beatnik - July 31, 2011

    […] publishing director at Harper Collins. But the best bit had to be meeting Lindsey Kelk, author of The Single Girl’s To Do List and the I heart series. She was not only absolutely lovely but she was inspiring in her story of how […]

  3. It’s been a while… « The One A Day Project - July 31, 2011

    […] publishing director at Harper Collins. But the best bit had to be meeting Lindsey Kelk, author of The Single Girl’s To Do List and the I heart series. She was not only absolutely lovely but she was inspiring in her story of how […]

Leave a Reply

