Like John Hughes with a subscription to Cahiers du Cinéma

8 Jul

Today I saw the trailer for The Myth of the American Sleepover.

It looks like a near-perfect match for my list of what makes a perfect piece of cinema. I can’t wait to watch it and the fact that in the trailer it’s described as ‘Like John Hughes with a subscription to Cahiers du Cinéma’ already makes me love it. Take a look for yourself, what do you think?

I watched it in the office today and I honestly felt like I’d been punched in the stomach, it looks so true to life, so evocative. I’ve refrained from reading anything else about it as I just want to watch it without any further influence. I don’t know if it’ll go on release in UK cinemas, but I’ll try and find it and I shall report back…

3 Responses to “Like John Hughes with a subscription to Cahiers du Cinéma”

  1. Mrs. This One July 10, 2011 at 10:53 pm #

    I just so added this movie to my list! It’s coming out on the 22nd. Will you be able to watch it in theaters?

    -MTO

    • beatifnik July 11, 2011 at 11:21 am #

      It’s only showing in three cities in the US, I think – New York, Detroit and LA, then on demand on cable: http://www.americansleepover.com/ – it looks wonderful though, can’t wait to see it.

      • Mrs. This One July 11, 2011 at 8:42 pm #

        That explains it! Lame, I grew up overseas and there was always this one thing I wanted to do but it wasn’t available where I was. At least you’ll have it on demand though!

        -MTO

Leave a Reply

