Heartwarmers

12 Jul

Like legwarmers, but not.

I’ve spent tonight watching WALL-E and I’m now watching Amelie. It’s a night for heartwarming films.

I don’t mean fuzzy, romantic films. I mean life-affirming, dream-igniting ones that make you believe that anything is possible.

To this list, I’d add:

The Life Aquatic
The Goonies
Stand By Me
A Life Less Ordinary
Big
The Darjeeling Unlimited

I’m sure there are more, I just can’t think of them all right now. I’m a sucker for a story about dreamers and dreams.

Do you have a go-to heartwarmer? What is it?

6 Responses to “Heartwarmers”

  1. Mrs. This One July 13, 2011 at 6:01 am #

    My wife keeps telling me that I NEED to watch The Goonies. I probably will at some point if school ever gives me some free time.

    I haven’t even seen most of the films in your list, so I will have to add those to the already long list I have of films I must watch.

    I’d say mine are:

    Up
    Hairspray (yes, the John Travolta version!)
    Billy Elliot
    Matilda
    Loser
    Coyote Ugly
    G.I. Jane
    The Secret of My Success
    Fried Green Tomatoes
    The Blind Side
    Mona Lisa Smile
    Rudy
    She’s the Man
    Freedom Writers
    And it seems the list keeps growing!

    I realize that not a lot of people will agree with my choices, but then again I’m pretty open to different types of films and these are definitely some which I consider “heartwarming.”

    -MTO

    • beatifnik July 13, 2011 at 10:42 pm #

      Definitely add Goonies to the list, it’s great. You have some good ones on there, give me a shout if you stumble across one that you’d particularly recommend!

  2. mrmatthewreid July 13, 2011 at 10:54 am #

    I love Wes Anderson films. The Life Aquatic would probably grace my top 10 ever. Strangely enough I didn’t rate The Darjeeling Limited though. In my opinion, nowhere near as good as Rushmore, or to a lesser extent, Fantastic Mr. Fox.

    Other ‘indie’ feel-good titles on my list would be Little Miss Sunshine and Napoleon Dynamite. And probably a fair few more that have slipped my mind.

    • beatifnik July 13, 2011 at 10:43 pm #

      All of those films are great, I love that whole lo-fi, indie, small town stuff that just makes you smile. 500 Days of Summer is good for that too.

      I love Wes Anderson too, although I wasn’t as massive a fan of Rushmore. Watching The Life Aquatic made me want to become an adventurer…

  3. Pixie July 13, 2011 at 8:32 pm #

    I love the life aquatic!

    My favourite heart warmers are My Neighbour Totoro and Ponyo. I keep going back to them, so lovely.

    • beatifnik July 13, 2011 at 10:44 pm #

      I haven’t seen either of those, I’ll check them out. Thanks for the recommendation, lady! x

Leave a Reply

