What’s your room number?

17 Oct

Today’s post is nothing more than an indulgent nod to one of my favourite films of recent years, The Darjeeling Limited by Wes Anderson. Or, more specifically Hotel Chevalier, the short film from the start of the aforementioned Darjeeling Limited.

I love this for so many reasons.

1. The song, ‘Where do you go to my lovely’ by Peter Sarstedt.

where do you go to my lovely record cover peter sarstedt 70s vinyl retro wes anderson the darjeeling limited

2. The line, “Whatever happens in the end, I don’t want to lose you as a friend” and the response: “I promise, I will never be your friend. No matter what. Never.”

the darjeeling limited I promise, I will never be your friend. No matter what. Never. quote jason schwartzman natalie portman hotel chevalier

3. The styling, not least for the awesome yellow robe from Hotel Chevalier or Natalie Portman’s beautiful grey coat. There’s also super-stylish moustachioed Jason Schwarztman and one of my ultimate wish-list items, the madly coveted Marc Jacobs for Louis Vuitton luggage set.

the darjeeling limited natalie portman jason schwartzman hotel chevalier wes anderson

I could go on and on, but I won’t. Any other Wes Anderson fans reading this post? Did you like The Darjeeling Limited? Which is your favourite Wes Anderson film?

2 Responses to “What’s your room number?”

  1. thomhoops October 17, 2011 at 10:49 pm #

    The Royal Tenanbaums is definitely my favourite although Rushmore is completely brilliant too. They all are to be honest.

    • beatifnik October 18, 2011 at 5:10 pm #

      Two great films, I love The Life Aquatic the most I think, although it changes every time I watch another of his films. He makes everything magical!

Leave a Reply

