Real Fast Food – What and Why?

6 May

Excellent idea from my pal and foodie inspiration Pete. Trying the fish fingers tonight!

All Of 'Real Fast Food'

I moved out of home at the age of 21, and I wasn’t a very good cook; I could make ‘Bolognese’ (brown meat, add tomatoes, boil), pasta (overcooked), a fry up, and was an expert at dicing a selection of things from the fridge and putting them in a pan, possibly with a few whisked eggs poured over the top but, beyond those utilitarian actions, I didn’t really know what I was doing.

IMG_0144

When I wound up in a tiny flat in Hackney with my girlfriend (now wife) who was a good cook herself, I felt it was time to expand the repertoire a little. I popped into the Owl Bookshop in Kentish Town and, after a brief flick through a few titles, alighted upon the book that best fitted my criteria of ‘cheap as possible, with lots of recipes, written by someone you’ve heard of’: Nigel Slater’s ‘Real Fast Food’.

My…

View original post 297 more words

Leave a Reply

