Life, death & dishes

22 Jul

I haven’t been watching a lot of ‘proper’ telly since the advent of Netflix, but finding myself with a bit of extra time on my hands in the evening of late, and being obsessed with househunting right now, I’ve been watching a lot of Location, Location, Location on All4.

And lo, it came to pass that I was subject to many adverts thanks to this. One of which is the most creative and captivating TV spot I’ve seen in a while: the new Finish Dishwasher tablets ad by those purveyors of creative wonder at Wieden+Kennedy:

There’s a whiff of Guinness and IKEA about the treatment. The voiceover in particular is reminiscent of the ‘tick follows tock’ in the iconic surfer campaign by AMV-BBDO:

http://youtu.be/Y9znA_dwjHw

It’s not a bad thing, though: it’s pretty hypnotic and the “Dishes” refrain gives the ad a compelling momentum.

I love the creative execution, the fact that you get the dishwasher’s point of view and narration, and that bizarre, Alice In Wonderland-esque, slightly nightmarish vision of the upside-down dishes being paired with milestone moments. It’s almost a reflection on how those occasions that are often the ‘biggest days of our lives’ aren’t even worth differentiating in the eyes of others.

Yes, I’m fully aware that a dishwasher tablet advert with existential aspirations is making me question how important everything in life really is. Sorry, not sorry. That’s what good advertising should have the power to do.

I’ll be interested to see how the concept plays out as a campaign. Potential, but it takes a bold agency and an even bolder client to not dilute the message as it flows through the channels.

All in all: powerful, playful stuff.

Heck, I don’t even have a dishwasher but this ad has made me wish I did so I could buy Finish for it!

Leave a Reply

